Alex Bogusky, I think I love you.

By Michael Mark, Creative Director/CEO @ NYCA

(I wrote this after seeing Alex speak last year, but was told by smart people at my agency not to post it – “too weird.”  On the news that Alex’s doing something new, I wanted to thank him, encourage him and hopefully not scare him.)

Alex Bogusky, I love you.

Here’s why:

Your delusional positivity philosophy.

Your constant poking at everything, including your agency, your clients, the industry, the work, the media, the culture, your hair.

Your biceps.

Your comfortableness with yourself.

Your response to my email. When I wrote, “Thanks, you did some good for our agency group,” you replied: “Love it. Have a great three days.”

Now let me parse this dense, complicated poetry.

First: “Love it.” Love: Pure joy, exuberance, connection. “It” is more subtle, rich and could refer to the time you spent with the group because we were good listeners, intelligent and appreciative. “It” could be the love for what you are doing now, or more generally, a love of life!

Following this grand emotional expression your words snap into reality, connectivity: “Have a great 3 days” – the 3 days! You tuned into my immediate situation, this specific reference to the time I was scheduled to be in Aspen. You could have jotted off a generic “thanks, enjoyed it” but you connected with my life. And right there – the combination of the emotional with the pointed, every day made a deeper, personal connection.

Alex, you are a great communicator: All with 7 words. Elegant, mystical.

I love that about you.

And also how you live in the moment so you bring those around you in it. And we’re all there in it, vivid and electric with possibilities.

As the industry trades write our obituaries you innocently, knowingly, amusedly ride your bike by the graveyard, wondering why the gloom when there’s so much fun stuff to do.

So it seems, I really don’t know you.

I just love you.

4 Responses to Alex Bogusky, I think I love you.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by NYCA, Inc. and Mona Lisa. Mona Lisa said: Alex Bogusky, I think I love you.: By Michael Mark, Creative Director/CEO @ NYCA (I wrote this after seeing Alex s… http://bit.ly/9LhAXx […]

  2. Jerry says:

    MICHAEL MARK’S MAJOR MANCRUSH.

    Makes for a catchy headline….

    But seriously, infectious enthusiasm is a good thing in a day when cool, detached, smarmy irony is the all-to-often operating norm.

    Thanks for that, Michael. We need more of it.

  3. nycagrow says:

    Jerry
    It’s from the heart. Thanks dude!

  4. Jerry says:

    Couldn’t be clearer!
    Be Well, Michael.

Leave a Reply

